baby / movies

News about a Creature From the Black Lagoon remake surfaces once more

Just weeks after I amazed my wife with the sheer amount of Creature merchandise I have up in my parent’s garage – including two of these plushies above and a life-size cardboard cutout that I threatened to take with us to Seattle, news hits about a possible remake of the classic original.

The Creature is my favorite Universal Monster and the reason I wanted to be a marine biologist when I was younger (that didn’t quite work out). We have heard a lot about remakes in the past, but this one actually sound like it might come to fruition. According to Sci Fi Wire,

Director Breck Eisner told SCI FI Wire that he is preparing an update to the 1954 SF movie Creature From the Black Lagoon and has found a pristine location in the Amazon to film it.

“I want it to be authentic; I want it to be a sea of green rather than CG,” said Eisner in an interview after a news conference on May 2 in Pasadena, Calif., to promote NBC’s Fear Itself. “It is certainly easy to update the story. It was shot in modern times at the time it was originally made, and this will be shot today in the Amazon. We are updating the tone of the original.”

I’m trying not to get too excited. It looks like it could be years down the road, but that is only makes it something I can share with the little one. Watching horror movies together makes for wonderful family stories.

I remember watching Son of the Blob with my mom (and on my list of fears – gelatin monsters are up there close to number one) when I had a friend over one night (or at least starting it and getting too scared to continue). And, watching Kingdom of the Spiders with my Grandma and cousins. That movie scared my cousin so bad he wouldn’t walk home alone. It wasn’t Shatner! It was the spiders!

6 thoughts on “News about a Creature From the Black Lagoon remake surfaces once more

  1. Actually, I believe I got it when the first Universal Monster collections came out on dvd. I believe their called the Legacy collections. I knew someone who worked at an On Cue (a cd and dvd store) that used to be in Vincennes, IN. I haven’t seen it for sale anywhere, but it is a stand alone cutout, not an ad.

  2. Darn. I’ve a friend that desperately wants to buy a cardboard life-size cutout of the Gill Man/Creature from the Black Lagoon. Looks like I’m out of luck.

  3. My boyfriend is a HUGE Creature fan. I’ve been trying to find a life-size cardboard cutout of the Creature for his Christmas present. Any ideas where I could find one? Thanks!

    • HI Kina, I actually got mine when the first Universal DVD collections came out. It was sent to the Wal-Mart I worked at and I picked it up when they were done with it. I really don’t know where to get one on the market. If you find a place, let me know.

Leave a Reply

