Poetry

“Son of a Gambling Man”

BarbarossaRare is the person that knows the Willie Nelson western Barbarosa.  It’s a favorite of mine and a movie worth checking out.  Willie and a young Gary Busey both give great performances.  Thinking of this westerns tonight, I decided to post another old poem.  This was started out as a song for my old Alt-Country band, Buck Weiss and lo-fi america, but never made it past the poetry stage.  I thought I would throw it up as NaPoWriMO comes to a close.  Nothing groundbreaking – pretty bad actually, but bad poetry is always a fun time and I am a fan of westerns.

Son of a Gambling Man

Daddy was a gambling man

Lost momma in a miss-played hand

They say I’ve got his lying eyes

That’s why all my lovers die.

And when the law sees me coming

They turn and walk away

I’m known from here to Adeline

And all the small towns in between

They talk of deals with devils

They whisper of my deeds

And if you see me coming

Better turn and walk away

And if you see me coming

Better turn and walk away

 

Leave a Reply

