art / Horror / Uncategorized

Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein

The always wonderful Not Pulp Covers has a nice collection of  Bernie Wrightson’s Illustrations of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein.

I just taught the Novel in my Western World Lit. class and was amazed once again at how many of my students talked of how they thought the monster’s name was Frankenstein.  I had a ton of great feedback about the novel this semester and many of my students voted it the best thing we read in the whole course.

The work holds up so well.

I also showed James Whales’ Bride of Frankenstein.  Every time I show it, I worry that the students will hate it, but again, they thought it was amazing.  There are so many great connections between the novel and Bride.  So much more than the in the original Universal Frankenstein.

One of my students told me that watching the film really helped her get past the ending of the novel, since the monster just moves off at the end, but in the film he actually dies.

I didn’t have the heart to tell her that he comes back for more Universal mayhem.

This also, got the class into a rousing game of “Who can say the Monster’s Final Line the Best.”

“No, you stay!  We belong Dead!”

Leave a Reply

