books / Horror / Reviews / Uncategorized

Book Review – The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King

bazaar_cover_art

I’ve finished a few books over the holiday and all of them were killer.  King’s newest short story collection had some real standouts.  I listened to this one on audio and loved hearing King come in and tell us a little bit about the story before each one.  I also loved his reading of “Tommy.”

There were some real standouts – Classic King such as “Mile 81,” “The Dune,” and “The Little Green God of Agony.”   There were some stories that really showed King’s literary side – “Premium Harmony,” “Batman and Robin Have an Altercation,” and “Morality.”

The novella, “Blockade Billy” was a wonderful surprise.  Though I am not really a baseball fan, I was smiling the whole time it was on.

There were a few that were less interesting and I was really bothered by “Herman Wouk is Still Alive.”  This one hit me very wrong.  I need to read it again before making a real judgment.  I feel like I was missing some satire or irony in the audio version.  The delivery just made me think that King was an ass and I know that is not true.

Overall, a great read or listen.  The last standout of this collection is the fact that Will Patton narrates a few stories.  This guy can do no wrong.  I love him on Mr. Mercedes and Finders Keepers.  I need to re-read The Shining and then dive into Dr. Sleep just to hear him narrate some more.

Leave a Reply

