books / Reviews / Uncategorized

Book Review – A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

9780765376459

Twitter recommended I follow V.E. Schwab and her page had the cover of A Darker Shade of Magic in all of its glory.  She is a lucky author.  That cover is amazing.  I talk to authors all the time who hate the covers of their novels and I understand why.  This one sets this work off in the best way possible.  It has a great mix of comic art and class.  I picked it up as soon as I could and devoured it in a matter of days.

This is classic fantasy at its best.  The magic system is fun, the characters are witty and interesting, the worlds are deep and breathtaking.  Any one of those things has made me love a book in the past and we get it all here.  All that and my favorite thing about the work is that the bad guys and gals are truly bad and the good guys and gals are just roguish enough to make us cheer when they kick some ass.

I can’t wait to pick up the sequel.

Leave a Reply

